BOOK OF NIGHT

HOLLY BLACK

BOOK OF NIGHT

On Sale Now

 


#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals, cabals, and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make.

She’s spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie Hall.

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but getting out isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that Charlie’s shadowless, and possibly soulless, boyfriend has been hiding things from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends into a maelstrom of murder and lies.

Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world―all trying to steal a secret that will give them vast and terrible power

“A delicious, dark, adrenaline rush of a book. I’m already dying to see Charlie Hall’s next con.” ―New York Times bestselling author, Alix E. Harrow

“Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists―a story so believable in its magic, you’ll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages.”  ―Leigh Bardugo, New York Times bestselling author of Ninth House

“If Neil Gaiman channeled Stephen King, the result might be this book…scintillating prose, whiplash twists, and a voice of character that demands to be heard from again.”  ―James Rollins, New York Times bestseller of The Starless Crown

“Heart, soul, and a bit of kink―Book of Night is smart, decadent fun.”  ―Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize Finalist