Stella Diaz - Macmillan Skip to content
9781250763082.jpg

Stella is happy as a clam in fourth grade. She's the president of the Sea Musketeers conservation club, she starts taking swim lessons, and she joins a new art club at school. But as her schedule fills up, school gets harder, too. Suddenly the tides have turned, and she is way too busy!

Stella will be in an ocean of trouble if she can't keep her head above water. But with her trusty Sea Musketeers by her side, she hopes to make her big dreams come true!

Preorder Now!

9781250229113.jpg

Stella is back! And this time she is going to Mexico! Stella can't wait to see the ocean for the first time . . . until she arrives and learns that the sea and its life forms are in danger due to pollution.

Stella wants to save the ocean, but she knows she can't do it alone. It's going to take a lot of work and help from old and new friends to make a difference, but Stella Díaz never gives up!

Buy Now!

9781250294104.jpg

Stella Díaz is not a betta fish. Betta fish like to be alone, while Stella loves spending time with her mom and brother and her best friend Jenny. Trouble is, Jenny is in another class this year, and Stella feels very lonely.

When a new boy arrives in Stella's class, she really wants to be his friend, but sometimes Stella accidentally speaks Spanish instead of English and pronounces words wrong, which makes her turn roja. Plus, she has to speak in front of her whole class for a big presentation at school! But she better get over her fears soon, because Stella Díaz has something to say!

Buy Now!

Praise for Stella Díaz Has Something to Say

2019 Sid Fleischman Award winner

A 2019 Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) Notable Children's Book

A New York Public Library Best Book for Kids 2018

Top 10 Showstopper Favorite

One of Chicago Public Library's "Best of the Best Books 2018”

"Realistic relationships ground this character-driven story . . . Fans of Clementine and Alvin Ho will be delighted to meet Stella." School Library Journal, starred review

"Readers will cheer as they see how, with the help of her friends and family, Stella overcomes her shyness . . . A nice and timely depiction of an immigrant child experience." —Kirkus Reviews

"An excellent, empowering addition to middle grade collections." —Booklist

"Readers should easily relate to Stella, her struggle to use her voice, and the way she feels caught between worlds at school and at home."Publishers Weekly

"Stella Díaz is a delight! Young readers will love the story of this shy, sweet, and very creative girl finding her voice." —Monica Brown, author of the Lola Levine series

About the Author

stella_stelladiaz

Angela Dominguez was born in Mexico City, grew up in the great state of Texas, and now resides on the East Coast with her boyfriend, Kyle, and petite dog, Petunia. She is the author and illustrator of several books for children, including the Sid Fleischman Award winner Stella Díaz Has Something To Say. She has also received two Pura Belpré Illustration Honors for her art in Maria Had a Little Llama and Mango, Abuela, and Me. When Angela is not in her studio, she teaches at the Academy of Art University.

angeladominguezbooks.com

turtle_stelladiaz

Take the Pledge

Join Stella and make her pledge to help save the ocean!

pledge_stelladiaz

Sign up now!

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.