The Merciful Crow

"...a ferocious, exhilarating narrative. Full of romance and suspense, this is a tale that will leave readers hungry for the next book in the series." - The New York Times 

 

With clever magic, a star-crossed romance, and lethal stakes, The Merciful Crow is a YA fantasy debut perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Leigh Bardugo, and Kendare Blake.

As a future chieftain of the Crow caste, sixteen-year-old Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her clan of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when her family is called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime. Instead, they find a still-living crown prince, his cunning bodyguard, and a common foe: a ruthless usurper queen who wants them all dead.

Fie agrees to smuggle the prince across the nation in exchange for her people's safety. But with the queen’s brutal hunters on their tail, she's forced to make the sacrifices that define a true leader.

Order Your Copy!

Preorder Your Copy!

With clever magic, a star-crossed romance, and lethal stakes, The Merciful Crow is a YA fantasy debut perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Leigh Bardugo, and Kendare Blake.

As a future chieftain of the Crow caste, sixteen-year-old Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her clan of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when her family is called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime. Instead, they find a still-living crown prince, his cunning bodyguard, and a common foe: a ruthless usurper queen who wants them all dead.

Fie agrees to smuggle the prince across the nation in exchange for her people's safety. But with the queen’s brutal hunters on their tail, she's forced to make the sacrifices that define a true leader.

On Sale 7/30/19

About the Author

authorphoto_mercifulcrow

Margaret Owen was born and raised at the end of the Oregon Trail; she now lives and writes in Seattle while negotiating a long-term hostage situation with her two monstrous cats. In her free time, she enjoys exploring ill-advised travel destinations and raising money for social justice nonprofits through her illustrations. You can find her on Twitter @what_eats_owls and at margaret-owen.com.

Praise for The Merciful Crow

"...a ferocious, exhilarating narrative. Full of romance and suspense, this is a tale that will leave readers hungry for the next book in the series." - The New York Times 

 

The Merciful Crow is packed to the teeth with fresh worldbuilding and righteous fury. With a bone-chilling opening and an energy that refuses to relax its grip on the reader, it’s a ride that is wildly fun. Also there’s a cat named Barf.”
– Emily Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints

 

"Exquisite world-building, vivid prose, and an unstoppable, unforgettable main character make The Merciful Crow one of the most exciting, exceptionally crafted fantasy debuts I've ever read. I did not want to leave this world! Absolutely breathtaking."
– Claire Legrand, New York Times-bestselling author of Furyborn

 

"The Merciful Crow is an intense, romantic adventure with unforgettable magic and a ferocious heroine I'd gladly follow down a long, dark road." —Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear 

 

★ "Memorable and filled with diverse characters with fluid sexualities and identities, this tale is both a satisfying standalone and the first half of a planned duology." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

★"Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review 

 

"Debut author Owen’s rich world-building is tight and logical, integrating various magical gifts, memorable characters, and timely and relevant themes of prejudice, persecution, and social justice." —School Library Journal

Extras

Sign Up for Updates


HH_logo_hi res
MCPG-Logo clear